Innovation of the year Steelie Award 2018

                The Steelie Awards recognise member companies or individuals for their contribution to the steel industry over a one-year period in a series of categories impacting the steel industry.

                The Steelies are awarded each year at worldsteel’s General Assembly in October. Due to the COVI-19 pandemic, the winners of the 11th Steelie Award will be revealed online on 14 October 2020.

                The selection process for nominations varies between awards. In most cases nominations are requested via the appropriate membership committee and the worldsteel extranet.

                Entries are then judged by selected expert panels using agreed performance criteria. Journalist of the year is selected by direct vote.

                Some general rules apply:

                • Only entries from worldsteel members are accepted and all dues must have been paid
                • An entry from multiple members will be accepted, but in the event of a tie priority will be given to a single member entry
                • National and regional associations may only enter on behalf of their own organisation and not as a combined entry with all or some of their members
                • Multiple entries from a single member will be accepted. But it should be noted that the Steelie experience is that quality wins over quantity. We recommend that maximum effort behind a few entries pays a better dividend
                • By making an entry the member gives permission to worldsteel for the contents to be used for communications and promotion activities
                • All marking and comments are confidential and will not be made available. The judges' decisions are final.

                The 2020 timing is as follows:

                • Opening date will be 1 June 2020 and closing date for entries will be 1 September 2020 (Innovation Award will close 1 August 2020)
                • The shortlist for each Steelie will be announced on 5 October
                • The winners will be revealed on 14 October.


                Seven Steelie Awards categories:

                Category 1 | Excellence in digital communications

                This award recognises all digital communications efforts from website to mobile applications to social media. It will particularly look at: overall design, look and feel of the website, quality of information, ease of navigation, loading time and use of technology; presence and activity on social media; range and quality of digital/interactive media – apps, blogs, videos, live-streaming, podcasts, animations, infographics, games and simulations; best practice leadership; and finally digital innovation.

                The judges for Excellence in digital communications are:

                Category 2 | Innovation of the year

                This award recognises the most innovative nomination for technical improvement or environment mitigation. Nominations are sought through the worldsteel technology committee and judged by the technology and environment committee steering committee.

                The judges for Innovation of the year are:

                • worldsteel Technology Committee (TECO) Steering Group
                • worldsteel Environment Committee (ECO) Steering Group

                Category 3 | Excellence in sustainability

                The excellence in sustainability award recognises a member company or a national or regional association for a specific sustainability initiative that has made a positive impact, or provided benefits in all three areas of sustainability – including economic, environmental and social performance. Additional criteria include the level of community/stakeholder communication & outreach related to the initiative. Nominations are called for through the Sustainability Reporting Expert Group and judged by a panel of internal and external judges.

                The judges for Excellence in Sustainability are:

                Category 4 | Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment

                This award recognises member companies that have played a key role in utilising the concept of life cycle thinking for overall environmental improvement in marketing and/or regulatory influence, project application and new product development. Member nominations in the form of a detailed questionnaire are called for by worldsteel. The nominations are judged by a panel of external LCA experts from around the world to ensure fair competition and raise awareness of this award outside of the global steel industry.

                The judges for Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment are:

                Category 5 | Excellence in education and training

                This award recognises member companies for their contributions to worldsteel's education and training programme and leadership in enhancing the skills of the steel workforce for today and tomorrow. Member nominations are called for by the worldsteel education and training committee and followed by an evaluation based on a points system.

                Category 6 | Excellence in communications programmes

                This award recognises investment and innovation in major communications programmes (internal and external) that promote the steel industry or steel as a competitive material. The programmes allowed to enter can be product promotion, corporate reputation (environment, sustainability, safety and local community/CSR) or employee communications programmes. The award covers all channels from advertising, print, marketing promotion and digital.

                The judges for Excellence in communications programmes are:

                Category 7 | Journalist of the year

                This award recognises the journalist from any media outlet who has written regularly in the most informative and educative way on any aspect of the steel industry. Nominees are culled from the worldsteel media cuttings management system and voted on by members of the worldsteel communications committee.